Table of Contents
- Available notifications
- Enabling notifications
- Editing notifications
On this page, you can configure the notification emails that are triggered and dispatched automatically to the customer upon different action events such as payment error, gift card creation, order confirmation, etc.
Path: Settings > Notifications.
You can set and customize notifications against the events of the following modules:
You can enable, disable, and customize the notifications for the following events that are related to order placement.
1. Abandoned Checkout: You can customize the content of the notification email that will be sent to the customer when they leave items in their cart without checking out. If this notification is enabled, an email will be sent out to the customer to draw their attention to the abandoned cart and to remind them to check out. By default, if the notification is enabled, the email will be dispatched to the customer after 2 hours since they left the items in the cart. The sent emails can be seen at the path: Marketing > Abandoned Cart Recovery.
2. Gift Card Created: If enabled, an email will be sent out automatically to the customer when a shopping gift card is issued against their email address.
3. Order Cancelled: If enabled, an email will be sent out automatically to the customer when their order is canceled by the admin. Learn how to cancel an order.
4. Order Confirmation: If enabled, an order confirmation email is sent out to the customer automatically when they place their order in your store.
5. Payment Error: If enabled, the customer is notified of the payment failure in case their payment fails to go through during checkout.
You can enable, disable, and customize the notifications for the following events that are related to the customer profile.
1. Account Invite: If enabled, an auto-email is sent to the customer when they sign up on your store. They are asked for account confirmation.
2. Account Password Reset: If enabled, an auto-email is sent to the customer when they request to reset their account password.
3. Account Welcome: If enabled, an auto-email is sent to the customer when they sign up on your store and confirm their account by clicking on the link that is sent via the “Account Invite” email. This serves as a welcome email and informs the customer that they can now log in to the store using their registered credentials.
Here, you can enable, disable, and customize the notifications for the following events that are related to the customer profile.
1. Delivered: It’s the notification email that is sent to the customer when an order is successfully delivered to them. This feature is under development and will be launched soon.
2. Out for Delivery: It’s the notification email that is sent to the customer when their order is dispatched for delivery. This feature is under development and will be launched soon.
To enable any of the above notifications, click on the notification name to open it in edit mode. If it’s disabled, you will see the “OFF” label on the toggle.
1. To enable notification, move the toggle to the right, and the label “ON” will appear instead of “OFF”.
2. Click on the Save button to save the enabled state of the notification.
3. You will be prompted to confirm your action. Click Apply.
4. When the notification is enabled, and you save the changes, the page refreshes automatically and takes you back to the main Notifications page. A success message also appears in a notification popup on the right corner of the page, indicating that the changes have been saved.
You can always edit and customize the emails that are configured to be sent out automatically to your customers. Cartzy has a user-friendly interface that allows you to design your emails in simple steps as well as gives you the following options:
- You can also preview your email content before saving it.
- If the edits don’t look good enough, you can always restore the default settings of the notification email.
- Send yourself a test email.
To edit any email notification, you first need to open it in edit mode by clicking on the notification name. For example, the notification email for “Gift Card Created” is opened in edit mode in the following image.
In this field, you can edit the content of the email subject. The variable placeholders can be used for constant information such as store name, or variable information such as order amount, and customer name.
This is an HTML editor where you can add the HTML code for the design and content of your email. The preview can always be seen on the right side of the page.
To see how your email looks, you can click the Refresh Preview option given against the Preview section on the right side of the page. The Preview section will be refreshed to reflect the recent edits done in the Content editor.
To restore the default changes, click on the Revert to Default button given at the top of the page. You will be prompted to confirm your action. If you click the Revert to Default button again on the popup window, you will lose all your edits, and the notification email content will go back to the default settings.
You can send a test mail to yourself or to your colleague to analyze the design and content of the email. It will give you an idea of how the email will appear in the recipient’s inbox so that you can make the required changes before the email is triggered for actual shoppers.
To send a test email, do the following:
1. Click on the Send Test Email button.
2. On the Send Test Email popup window, enter the email id where you want to receive the test email and click Send.
3. The email will be sent to the provided email address. A notification of success will appear on the top right corner of the page.
The image below is an example of a test email received by the recipient. The test email will have the prefix “[TEST]” in the email subject.
To save the edits that you made to the notification email, click on the Save button at the top right corner of the page.
On the Update Notification popup, confirm your action by clicking the Apply button.
As soon as you click on the Apply button, the following occurs:
- The notification email edits are saved.
- A notification popup containing the success message will appear on the top right corner of the page.
- The page refreshes to load the main Notifications page.